Competent Yogi, a benevolent human being

Swami Vivekananda
Sw. Vivekananda

A competent Yogi is one who has completely eradicated all kinds of devil natures from his/her beings, and has installed, developed the divine natures in the beings, and brought them to the perfection.

Buddha would say, the life long habits can’t be broken off easily nor quickly, they demand arduous efforts, in lazy people cases, it takes numerous lives to overcome, but in sincere, smart and brilliant students it can happen in one life time also.

After avoiding, abandoning and overcoming the devil natures, and developing, perfecting and maintaining the divine natures, life becomes different, full of energy, enthusiasm, rapture, happiness, virility, success, abundance, charity, generosity, great deeds, praises, and honored by human, divine and celestial beings.

What are devil and divine natures?

The devil and divine natures can be observed in the prominent devil or divine ones. The enlightened ones and sages of India like Patanjali, Rama, Krishna, Buddha, Mahavira, Adi Shankara, Kabir, Nanak, and others have described about them in their teachings.

Lord Krishna, a Super Yogi, has described the possible devil natures in a person, which resist one to be a true Yogi, simultaneously, he has specified the the divine natures too which are found in developed forms in a person, which make one Divine, Pure and Great Soul.

In the sixteenth chapter of Geeta, Krishna mentions the divine natures first, as follows:

अभयं सत्त्वसंशुद्धिर्ज्ञानयोगव्यवस्थितिः ।
दानं दमश्च यज्ञश्च स्वाध्यायस्तप आर्जवम् ॥१६- १॥

अहिंसा सत्यमक्रोधस्त्यागः शान्तिरपैशुनम् ।
दया भूतेष्वलोलुप्त्वं मार्दवं ह्रीरचापलम् ॥१६- २॥

तेजः क्षमा धृतिः शौचमद्रोहो नातिमानिता ।
भवन्ति संपदं दैवीमभिजातस्य भारत ॥१६- ३॥

Abhayam (fearlessness), Sattva-samshuddhi (purified intelligence), Gyaanyoga vyavasthitih (established in the Yoga of Wisdom), Daanam (Charity), Damah (Subjugation of all senses including mind), Yajna (fire offerings; in spiritual sense the burning of desires), Swadhyaaya (Study and observation of Self), Aarjawam (Simplicity, to be natural not artificial). (16-1)

Ahimsa (non-violence or kindness), Satayam (Truthfulness), Akrodhah (Angre-free mind), Tyagah (Sacrifices), Shaantih (Peaceful mind and body), Bhooteshu Daya (Compassion towards all beings without discrimination), Aloluptwam (Greed-free heart), Mardawam (Softness and gentleness), Hreeh (Hesitation in doing unrighteous acts),  Chapalam (Flickering, wavering and rampant of mind). (16-2)

Tejah (Brilliance), Kshamah (Forgiveness), Dhritih (Patience, Endurance and Tolerance), Shuchim (Purity of body, mind and soul), Adroham (non-rebellious), Naatimaanita (Absence of Ego). (16-3)

And followings are the devil natures, which defile the soul:

दम्भो दर्पोऽभिमानश्च क्रोधः पारुष्यमेव च ।
अज्ञानं चाभिजातस्य पार्थ संपदमासुरीम् ॥१६- ४॥

Dambha (Hypocrisy), Darpa (Arrogance), Abhimaan (Ego), Krodhah (Anger), Parushya (Harshness in languages), and Agyaanam (Ignorance, Un-intelligence, not knowing the Truth).

Buddha has described about the divine natures, which he would call Paarmitas, as follows:

  1. Daan (Charity)
  2. Sheel (Moralities)
  3. Kshaanti (Endurance)
  4. Veerya (Virility)
  5. Dhyaan (Meditation or Integrated mind)
  6. Pragyan (Noble Wisdom)

The removal of incompetent or devil natures and, simultaneously, developing, maturing and perfecting the competent or divine natures in oneself itself is called Yoga or Spiritual Practices in order to experience and manifest the greatness and divinity. As per degree of divinity one is called Yogi or True human being.

Om! Amen!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s